So no updates on the wallet. I didn’t have much luck tracking anything down yesterday. Well, really no luck because I was simply too exhausted to try. After waking up every hour on Saturday night envisioning new ways the thieves could steal my identity, or remembering more sentimental items I’d had stored in it, and then spending hours at the bank finagling new financial information I was pretty much a no-go for a video hunting expedition.

However, I have learned ten key pieces of information regarding wallet safety/having your wallet stolen which I thought I would share for the general audience:

  1. Hanging your purse on a chair in a restaurant (even if it’s against the wall), is not (as I had thought), a safe place.
  2. If someone bumps your chair (while your purse is hanging on it), check your belongings. Apparently this is one of the oldest tricks in the book…especially if the person sitting behind you then leaves 5 minutes later without ordering anything.
  3. Even if your bank provides nice little wallet-size carrying cards for your account numbers, it’s still not a good idea to have that actually in your wallet.
  4. When people say don’t put your social security card in your wallet–again even though it’s wallet size–I discovered, that’s sound advice.
  5. If you’re purchasing ice cream when you discover your wallet is stolen, just give the ice cream back to the store. Trying to carry it out, run down the street, call multiple credit card companies, and eat melting ice cream all at the same time is simply not possible. (I had to say goodbye to a beautiful bowl of J.P. Licks black raspberry chip–it was almost sadder than having my wallet stolen. Almost.)
  6. Have copies of your credit card company’s information somewhere other than on your credit cards. Luckily 411 info was able to connect me to the card companies I needed, but going forward, I will definitely keep written copies on hand.
  7. File a fraud alert as soon as you can on one of the three major credit websites (Equifax, Trans Union or Experian). According to my bank, 71% of fraud occurs within the first week of someone having your information. For me, it happened within about 30 minutes. They already racked up about $1,000 by the time I was able to cancel my cards.
  8. Call the cops. Even though wallet theft is not generally something the police can do much about, it’s helpful to have a report of the incident and assists cities in documenting crime rates.
  9. Fellas, be aware of your back pockets. Even though my wallet was in my zipped purse, it was stolen. I don’t think back pockets are all that much safer (and are perhaps arguably less safe).
  10. Keep your stamps at home. I thought I was being pro-active and smart buying bundle upon bundle of ‘Forever‘ stamps before the postage rates went up. Well, forever isn’t that helpful when the storage device they were in disappears forev-a, ev-a, e-va.
  11. And for a little extra, a quick poll:

Add to Technorati Favorites

Bookmark and Share

